Staff Selection Commission conducts the SSC exam to recruit at various levels of Government jobs. SSC conducts all the exams such as SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, SSC MTS, SSC Junior Engineer exam, SSC Sub Inspector, and for junior level constable recruitment.

There is an age-old saying,” Winners don’t do different things, they do things differently”. We all are familiar with the dedication and perseverance that it requires to get through this hurdle and fulfilling the dream and land a job in one of the different departments of Govt. of India. It has become a common phenomenon to give multiple attempts to clear this exam and as such, there is a growing competition and anxiety among the aspirants around this exam. This article will address few of those bugging issues.

SSC stands for Staff Selection Commission which is an organization of Govt. of India to recruit staff in various posts in the ministries and departments of Govt. of India and their various subordinate offices. You can get a glimpse of the organization at http://ssc.nic.in/.

SSC conducts various exams under its purview. The SSC Exam is conducted at various levels, as given below:

  • CGL-Combined Graduate Level for posts of Officers, Assistants, Inspector, Sub Inspectors and Junior Statistical Officer, Auditor for CAG, Central Service Secretariat, Ministry of Railway, Ministry of External Affairs CBI, National Investigative Agency etc.
  • CHSL- Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination for the posts of Data Entry Operator, Lower Divisional Clerk, and Postal Assistant.
  • Sub Inspector in CPO
  • Section Officer (Audit and Commercial)
  • Junior Engineer Exam

SSC CGL is the most sought exam due to the status and position it offers to an individual in our society. As a result of this, there is an exponential increase in the number of applicants and in the year 2017 there has been a record no of 30 lakhs applicants. The candidate is supposed to assess himself and then gain insights and apply for the post aligning to his interests and liking.


The exam consists of 3 phases:

  • Tier-I (Preliminary)
  • Tier-II (Mains)
  • Tier-III (Descriptive Test)

Tier 1 SSC Exam Pattern

Tier 1 exam is an online objective type MCQ exam consists of 100 questions with total marks of 200.

There are 4 sections each consisting of 25 questions.

  • Reasoning
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Language
  • General Awareness

Each correct answer fetches +2 whereas there is a penalty of -0.5 for each incorrect response. However, there is no penalty for not attempting a question.

Innovation Academy helps students in their studies,reach us anytime